Home About us About us Who's who

Who's who

David Foster - Chief Executive

David Foster joined The Parks Trust as Chief Executive in 2003.  He started his career in the landscape and planning team at Warrington and Runcorn Development Corporation (1979 - 1987).  He then had a 10-year spell with the national regeneration charity Groundwork (1987 - 1997), setting up and running a Trust in West Yorkshire and then becoming Operations Director at the head office in Birmingham. From 1997-2003 David was Chief Executive of Thrive, a national charity whose mission is to research, educate and promote the use and advantages of gardening for people with a disability.

David has an HND in Natural Resources and Rural Economics from Seale Hayne College and an MBA from Aston University. He is married with two children.

Richard Forman - Chairman of the Board

Chair of Executive Committee

Richard is Chief Executive of Fevore Group, based in Milton Keynes. The group is principally focussed on automotive services and property investment and consultancy. Automotive activities include contract hire, vehicle and customer management services for manufacturers, software design and development, and accessory fitting and distribution. Fevore also owns speciality box maker G Ryder & Co, one of Milton Keynes’ oldest manufacturers. 

Prior to its sale, Richard was chief executive of Wayside Group a top 30 UK motor retailer.  Richard is a Chartered Surveyor and before joining Fevore/Wayside was a group board director of Lambert Smith Hampton and its predecessor companies. 

Alex Chapman

Alex has lived in Milton Keynes all his life.  He has a degree in Environmental Management and is currently studying for a PhD in Geography and Environment at the University of Southampton.  Alex has worked in and around Milton Keynes, at St Paul's Catholic School, the Open University and Virgin Active and is a member of the congregation at the Church of Christ the Cornerstone.

Sam Crooks

Sam Crooks came to Milton Keynes to work at the Open University. He has been a councillor for over 20 years and has twice been Leader of the Council.  Between 1989 and 1992 he was one of those involved in setting up the Parks Trust, a controversial idea at the time which he believes has been one of the city's greatest successes.   He wants to help widen the Trust's educational activities for both children and adults.  Sam is also a magistrate, school governor and a trustee of Bletchley Park.  

John Eaton

Chair of Operations Committee

John has held a wide range of senior leadership positions in UK and international retail financial services.  He spent most of his career with Barclays Bank Plc where his roles included Deputy Chief Executive of Barclaycard, Managing Director of Barclays Merchant Services and Chief Operating Officer for Private Clients and International Banking.  John has also held non-executive positions with a number of organisations including Milton Keynes NHS Primary Care Trust, Ogier Fiduciary Services and The Debt People.

Peter Geary

Peter was nominated to the Board by Milton Keynes Council.  He is a farmer at Hanslope and Trustee of the Cowper and Newton Museum at Olney.

Chris Gossop

Chris is a town planner and environmentalist.  He has served in local and central government, a campaigning organisation, the Town and Country Planning Association and in numerous voluntary roles.  His planning work has included a lengthy spell with the government agency PINS in which he had responsibility for the scrutiny and determination of major planning and infrastructure proposals.  He has worked internationally through the International Society of City and Regional Planners where, in 2009, he was General Rapporteur for their 45th World Congress on Low Carbon Cities.  His other volunteer roles include being a trustee of the National Energy Foundation and being Chair of the Two Mile Ash Environmental Group.

Andrew Lawes 

Chair of Audit Committee

Andrew is a Partner with Mercer & Hole Accountants based in Milton Keynes.

James Macmillan

James is currently Chief Operating Officer of a charity, The Egmont Trust, that aims to tackle and reverse the impact of HIV and AIDS on children in sub-Saharan Africa.  Prior to this he worked for 20 years for investment management firms including BlackRock International and Merrill Lynch Investment Managers.

Kitty Martin

Kitty is an oil services sector entrepreneur currently serving as a Board member for various companies including Norwegian oil company Det Norske, deepwater driller Sevan Drilling and Dubai based geophysical company Seabird Exploration plc. She was nominated by the Royal Forestry Society in December 2009.

Norman Miles

Norman was nominated to the Board by Milton Keynes Council.  He is a Milton Keynes Councillor and Deputy Leader of the Labour group.

Jean Nicholas

Jean was nominated to the Board by the Milton Keynes Association of Local Councils. She is Chairman of Shenley Brook End & Tattenhoe Parish Council and Vice Chair of the Governors of Shenley Brook End School.

Zoe Raven

Vice Chair

Zoe has worked in Milton Keynes since 1983 and has experience in business and of multi-agency working and partnerships between organisations.  She has a long standing interest in environmental issues and is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Acorn Childcare which she started in 1989 and expanded to nine nurseries.

Jan Flawn

Jan is a 'business entrepreneur' and started her career as a nurse and set up PJ Care which is very successful specialist neurological care charity. She is also Chair of CBM UK an international disability charity. Jan is well connected in Milton Keynes and lives in MK Village. She now has more spare time as her son is taking over the company as Executive Chairman. 

Duncan Mason

Duncan is an experienced property professional with deep family roots in Milton Keynes.  He lives in Gt Linford and works mainly from his London office.  He specialises in developing local centres and developed Willen Local Centre very successfully after he bought it from the Trust last year.

Richard Pearce

Richard has been the Woodland Officer for the Forestry Commission since 2006. He lives in Milton Keynes and has been the Trust’s Case Officer but is now responsible for a different area which enables him to become a Trustee.  Richard previously worked in visitor services with the National Trust.

Phil Wheeler

Phil is a Senior Lecturer in Ecology, Dept of Environment Earth & Ecosystems at the OU. He is a member of our Ecology Advisory Group chaired by Mike LeRoy.   He moved to Milton Keynes a year ago from North Yorkshire where he had attended the University of Hull and amongst other things was a member of the North York Moors National Park Authority.

Gamiel Yafai

Gamiel is the Managing Director of a diversity consultancy providing advice to mainly public sector organisations including Thames Valley Police, Network Rail, The Guardian, NHS Trusts.  He is passionate about changing society but not dogmatic or belligerent.  He has recently been undertaking some consultancy work for the Trust. Gamiel sits on the Community Grants Panel of the MK Community Foundation.