Who's Who

    David Foster - Chief Executive

    David Foster is Chief Executive of The Parks Trust which he joined in 2003. The Trust is an independent charity that cares for over 6,000 acres of parkland and green space in Milton Keynes. This includes river valleys, woodlands, parks and landscaped roadside areas that represent 25% of Milton Keynes. The work of the charity is funded through commercial property, investments and various enterprises on the parkland including commercial leisure activities at Milton Keynes’ most popular park, Willen Lake.
    In 1979 David started his career in the park ranger service in the landscape and planning team at Warrington and Runcorn Development Corporation and later moved to Warrington Borough Council. In 1987 he joined the national regeneration charity Groundwork and then went on to run the national horticultural therapy charity, Thrive (1998-2003). David has thirty years’ experience of charity management and is also on the board of The Safety Centre which is a local charity in Milton Keynes. He has a HND in Natural Resources and Rural Economics from Seale Hayne College and an MBA from Aston University.

    Richard Forman - Chairman of the Board

    Chair of Executive Committee

    Richard is a Director of the Fevore Group, based in Milton Keynes. The group is principally focused on automotive services and property investment and consultancy. Automotive activities include contract hire, vehicle and customer management services for manufacturers, software design and development, and accessory fitting and distribution. Fevore also owns speciality box maker G Ryder & Co, one of Milton Keynes’ oldest manufacturers.
    Prior to managing its sale in 2011, Richard was also Chief Executive of Fevore's sister company, Wayside Group, a top 30 UK motor retailer. Richard is a Chartered Surveyor and before joining Fevore/Wayside was a Group Board Director of Lambert Smith Hampton and its predecessor companies.

    Alex Chapman

    Alex has lived in Milton Keynes all his life. He has a degree in Environmental Management and is currently studying for a PhD in Geography and Environment at the University of Southampton. Alex has worked in and around Milton Keynes, at St Paul's Catholic School, the Open University and Virgin Active and is a member of the congregation at the Church of Christ the Cornerstone.

    Sam Crooks

    Sam Crooks came to Milton Keynes to work at the Open University. He has been a councillor for over 20 years and has twice been Leader of the Council. Between 1989 and 1992 he was one of those involved in setting up the Parks Trust, a controversial idea at the time which he believes has been one of the city's greatest successes. He wants to help widen the Trust's educational activities for both children and adults. Sam is also a magistrate, school governor and a trustee of Bletchley Park.

    John Eaton

    Chair of Operations Committee

    John has held a wide range of senior leadership positions in UK and international retail financial services. He spent most of his career with Barclays Bank Plc where his roles included Deputy Chief Executive of Barclaycard, Managing Director of Barclays Merchant Services and Chief Operating Officer for Private Clients and International Banking. John has also held non-executive positions with a number of organisations including Milton Keynes NHS Primary Care Trust, Ogier Fiduciary Services and The Debt People.

    Junita Fernandez

    Junita is a qualified Chartered Accountant with over 25 years’ experience. She is currently Director of Finance & Corporate Operations at Suzuki GB and responsible for Finance, HR, IT and Compliance. She previously worked for the VW Group for 11 years.

    Dan Gilbert

    Dan is Conservative Councillor for the Loughton and Shenley Ward on Milton Keynes Council. A former Special Advisor in central government, he is also now a director at a communications consultancy.

    Ian Jackson

    Ian is a chartered surveyor and a director of Hampton Brook which is a regional developer and investment company in commercial property. He has delivered a range of commercial schemes throughout Milton Keynes and the region and delivered significant inward investment. Ian is also the chairman of the CMK BID (Business Improvement District) and an ambassador for SEMLEP.

    Andrew Lawes

    Chair of Audit Committee

    Andrew is a Partner with Mercer & Hole Accountants based in Milton Keynes.

    Nick Lloyd

    Nick is a corporate finance partner at EMW Law in Milton Keynes. He has worked in Milton Keynes for 20 years and thinks that its parks are an intrinsic and hugely positive part of Milton Keynes life.

    James Macmillan

    James is currently Chief Operating Officer of a charity, The Egmont Trust, that aims to tackle and reverse the impact of HIV and AIDS on children in sub-Saharan Africa. Prior to this he worked for 20 years for investment management firms including BlackRock International and Merrill Lynch Investment Managers.

    Jennifer Marklew

    Jennifer is Labour Councillor for the Stony Stratford Ward on Milton Keynes Council.  She is also an experienced Insight Analyst.

    Jean Nicholas

    Jean was nominated to the Board by the Milton Keynes Association of Local Councils. She is Chairman of Shenley Brook End & Tattenhoe Parish Council and Vice Chair of the Governors of Shenley Brook End School.

    Zoe Raven

    Vice Chair

    Zoe has worked in Milton Keynes since 1983 and has experience in business and of multi-agency working and partnerships between organisations. She has a long standing interest in environmental issues and is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Acorn Childcare which she started in 1989 and expanded to nine nurseries.

    Ian Russell

    Ian is an experienced environmental professional with a strong background in developing and delivering rural environmental policy across a range of sectors. He currently works as Environment Manager of Route Services for Network Rail and has previously worked for the Civil Aviation Authority and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA).

    Clare Stacey

    Clare grew up on a dairy farm on the outskirts of Milton Keynes and graduated from Loughborough University with an MSc in Sports Management. She is currently working for England Hockey as their Athlete Liaison Officer and previously worked for English Institute of Sport and Badminton England.

    Richard Pearce

    Richard has been the Woodland Officer for the Forestry Commission since 2006. He lives in Milton Keynes and has been the Trust’s Case Officer but is now responsible for a different area which enables him to become a Trustee. Richard previously worked in visitor services with the National Trust.

    Phil Wheeler

    Phil is a Senior Lecturer in Ecology, Dept of Environment Earth & Ecosystems at the OU. He is a member of our Ecology Advisory Group chaired by Mike LeRoy. He moved to Milton Keynes a year ago from North Yorkshire where he had attended the University of Hull and amongst other things was a member of the North York Moors National Park Authority.

    Gamiel Yafai

    Gamiel is the Managing Director of a diversity consultancy and has worked with some of the UK’s largest employers to design and implement change strategies and action plans through inclusive practices to attract new talent from diverse backgrounds and to support existing talent to reach their potential. Gamiel is the recipient of the Global Diversity Leadership Award presented by the Global HRD Congress. Gamiel is also a trustee of Milton Keynes Homelessness Partnership